The Fahrenheit (°F) temperature scale is used for measuring temperature in the U.S. customary system of measurement. The temperature is expressed in degrees Fahrenheit (°F).

Two reference points for this temperature scale are:

32°F (the freezing point of water)

212°F (the boiling point of water)

Did you know?

The Fahrenheit temperature scale was developed in the early 1700s by a German scientist named Gabriel David Fahrenheit. He was the first person to make a mercury thermometer.

Also called Fahrenheit scale.

See also Celsius, temperature.